Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Dishwasher Cafe Presents: Poetry in the Bathtub

In less than 5 minutes, an intro to "Why you should" and "How you can" write poems

In the grand tradition of bad hair and impromptu video that I’ve apparently begun, I took a few minutes before my run to provide permission, encouragement, and a few ways in, so that you can write your first poem [in a while] with a bit of friendly, marginally thoughtful, entirely unrehearsed and unedited support.

Yes, you CAN write poetry, I argue, and here’s a tiny bit of Why and How.

[I promised if I made it to ten new paid subscribers by Valentine’s Day I’d make a bathtub poetry tutorial. We actually made it most of the way there, so here’s most of my gray matter showing up for a short tutorial, recovered from the recesses of my cobwebby Erstwhile Professor Brain.]

Thanks, as always, for reading [and watching], and we’ll be back to our regular programming of essay tapas next week, when hopefully we will have a new furnace, because wearing snowclothes inside and stoking the wood fire around the clock is even less glamorous and restful than it sounds.

Send me your efforts if you’re so inclined / have questions! I’d love to read them and reply.

0 Comments
Notes from the Dishwasher Café
Notes from the Dishwasher Café
Authors
Caroline Manring